Here’s how Colorado’s delegation voted in the 117th Congress

Here’s how Colorado’s delegation voted in the 117th Congress
Here’s how Colorado’s delegation voted in the 117th Congress

Colorado’s three Republicans in Congress have voted against their party far more often than their Democratic counterparts over the past two years, according to analysis by the Colorado Sun. They also missed more votes.

The Sun analyzed the votes in Congress of the state’s two Democratic U.S. senators and seven U.S. House members using data from ProPublica.

Here’s a look at what we learned about voting from January 2021 to last month.

US Representative Lauren Boebert voted against her party’s majority a quarter of the time

The average Republican in the House voted against their party’s majority in floor votes 8.3% of the time, ProPublica found.

U.S. Representative Lauren Boebert, a Republican from Garfield County, voted against her party’s majority far more often — 25.2 percent of the time.

Her first vote against the majority of the House Republican caucus came during her third week in office, when she voted on January 21, 2021, against allowing former military personnel to serve as defense secretary in the four years following his retirement, instead of seven.

Non-affiliates is our bi-weekly Colorado politics and politics newsletter.

Each edition is packed with exclusive news, analysis and other behind-the-scenes information you won’t find anywhere else. Subscribe today to see what all the buzz is about.

Of the 184 Republicans voting on the bill, 121 voted in favour, including U.S. Representative Ken Buck of Windsor.

U.S. Representative Doug Lamborn of Colorado Springs also voted against the bill, but later said he intended to vote for it.

In April 2021, Boebert and U.S. Representative Marjorie Taylor Greene, R-Georgia, were the only ones to vote “no” on a measure to continue a bone marrow program for cancer patients. A few days before Christmas, Boebert was among 28 Republicans who voted against a GOP-sponsored measure to improve child abuse and trafficking investigations. Lamborn voted for that bill – which passed – while Buck did not vote.

In total, Boebert voted against a majority of other Republican House members 244 times in 997 floor votes during his first two-year term.

Buck voted against his party members in floor votes nearly 19% of the time, voting no on 175 out of 997 votes. He was one of 24 ‘noes’ on a bipartisan bill to create a competition for patents that respond to a humanitarian mission. Both Boebert and Lambor voted for the measure.

And Buck was among 100 Republicans who voted with Democrats to pass the Speak Out Act limiting nondisclosure clauses in sexual assault or harassment laws. Boebert and Lamborn were among 109 Republicans who opposed the bill.

Lamborn voted against his party almost 6% of the time, 54 times out of 997 votes.

Colorado’s seven Democrats rarely crossed party lines in the 117th Congress. Democrats controlled both houses of Congress during the session.

U.S. Representative Jason Crow of Centennial voted against the Democratic majority 15 times. US Representative Ed Perlmutter of Arvada voted against his party 10 times. The senses. Michael Bennett and John Hickenlooper and Representatives Diana DeGette and Joe Neguse voted against their party less than 1% of the time.

On average, Democratic senators voted against their party line 1.1% of the time and the average House Democrat voted against their party majority 1.6% of the time.

Buck missed more votes than his colleagues

Buck has missed more than 50 floor votes over the past two years, ranking 26th in absentees among House members. About a third of Buck’s missed votes came in the past month.

Bennet missed 19 Senate floor votes, nearly all of them in the first week of May this year, accounting for 2% of total floor votes. He ranked 54th out of 100 for absenteeism in the Senate.

Boebert missed 2.4% of the House vote, or 24, while Lamborn missed 2%, or 20.

Neguse has only missed one floor vote in the past two years, while Hickenlooper has only missed two.

Senators and Representatives can list why they missed votes and even declare how they would have voted. Buck, Lamborn, Hickenlooper, Crow, Neguse and Perlmutter did not list any reasons or intentions to vote during their absences.

Bennet offered his scheduled votes, but only once explained his absence, saying it was travel-related.

Boebert listed his predicted votes and the reasons for his absence — mostly travel-related — five times.

Look forward

Perlmutter is the only member of Colorado’s congressional delegation who will not return to Washington, DC, in January when a new session of Congress, the 118th, begins. Lakewood Democrat Brittany Pettersen takes over from Perlmutter after winning the Nov. 8 election.

Thornton Democrat Yadira Caraveo will represent Colorado’s new 8th district.

. This is how delegation Colorado voted #117th Congress

. Heres Colorados delegation voted #117th Congress

PREV Maine’s first baby of 2023 arrived just after midnight on New Year’s Day
NEXT JINYA Ramen Bar brings higher Japanese cuisine to Utah